Project Challenge

Happy solstice! Yes, it was yesterday, but I like holidays. I’ll celebrate anything, including the anniversaries of obscure natural disasters and made-up food holidays (by the way, today is chocolate éclair day – enjoy). Still, solstice marks the beginning of the end for the light. The days will be getting shorter, and before you can remember the order of the reindeer it’s Christmas again.

Which is why, as I was scanning the sewing room, my eyes fell on the bin containing the ghosts of Christmas presents past.

I buy presents, props and fabric on speculation. You never know when something that whispers “take me home, take me home” will become the emergency gift, the perfect centerpiece, or the beginning of an award-winning quilt.

When you have an entire sewing room full of these treasures-in-waiting, however, some of them fall off the radar. That’s what happened with most of the stuff in the bin. And, of course, there are always more treasures begging to come home –

– to say nothing of the scraps of all those scrumptious Christmas fabrics we buy year after year after year:

So, this year, I decided to use the summer solstice to make plans for the winter solstice. Specifically, I need to come up with projects that I will actually complete to use up most of the stuff in the bin and the tote bag. The only caveat is that I must avoid ornaments. I’ve made so many for the kids already they could open their own shop, and since they are still in the moving-apartments-every-year phase, that means the inventory is in my garage. No, these projects have to be ones that will walk out the front door on their own. Here’s a prop to get you started:

Suggestions, anyone?

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Project Challenge”

  1. Elaine Schmitz Says:

    Make one of the labyrinth quilts you found in Quiltmaker Magazine, and use that for the center of the labyrinth. I will trade you your magazine article for my self-publishing book!!

Leave a Reply

