Self-portrait with feet

The Challenge project this time is a self-portrait, which got me to thinking about what the “self” in that really is. Everything we create is an image of us as artists, yes? So this:

Things that will become a quilt

is really a more accurate representation of who I am than this:

Not quite the face in the mirror, but almost

Of course, I realized that the minute I brought out a collection of fabrics and embellishments, the group would realize that either I was trying to pretend I had really done some cleaning in the sewing room, or I didn’t have enough room to work on a new project. Both statements are true.

Then I remembered a drawing exercise I did once, and I remembered that I had a brand new package of fabric sheets for printers. After a while, I even remembered where I put my sketchbook, and this is the beginning of my self-portrait:

I’m not certain whether I’ll color the feet or try once again to do a black and white quilt. I tried – twice – several years ago and both times more color crept into the pieces (I swear the quilting pixies came at night and added blocks while I slept). In any event, feet deserve some special attention, and I’m not saying this just because I’ve been nursing a badly twisted ankle. I’ve seen hand quilts and heart quilts and even shoe quilts, but I’ve never seen feet quilts. If you have, send me a picture!

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Self-portrait with feet”

  1. quiltfever Says:

    You come up with some really interesting ideas. But I had to google to see if anything turned up. Check this out http://michigoose-life-quilts.blogspot.com/2010/06/better-or-worse-or-what-to-do.html

  2. quiltfever Says:

    Not that I could find 🙂

Leave a Reply

