Art Quilt Santa Fe

When you see the notice for the next Art Quilt Santa Fe retreat, click on the “Sign Me Up Now!” button. You’ll be glad you did. I can’t remember the last time I had so much fun or worked so hard. I didn’t even mind the snow.

Yes, it snowed the first day of the retreat, which was May 1. Luckily for me, the closest I had to get to the snow was through the window. It all melted the next day, but by then I was immersed in learning new things.

Linda Schmidt taught the first part of the week about unusual embellishments. I thought I knew a thing or two about that, but I had never made rocks from Tyvek envelopes or painted my own puff paint trees.

Michelle Jackson taught the second part of the week about creating painterly art quilts with fusing. Both teachers are incredibly generous with their time, advice and materials. I started out thinking these were good workshops, because I was learning new techniques. Then they became great workshops, because the class project really became my project. By the end of the week, I knew they were fabulous workshops – the projects took on lives of their own and started telling me how they wanted me to finish them when I got home. I hope to show you them in the next couple of weeks.

The other thing that came home with me from Santa Fe was a file of photos for inspiration, including a series of shots of the buffalo head in the state capitol building. This piece is made entirely from found objects.


I can’t imagine the workroom of the artist who created this, but I’m thinking that mine has almost as much stuff in it. Once I’ve finally remembered what it is I do around here, I may just see if I can’t make my own found object critter. At the very least, I have a renewed determination to clean the sewing room if only to find out what the forgotten treasures lurking in the corners could become.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Art Quilt Santa Fe”

  1. Carol Says:

    Glad you had a fabulous time and came home inspired. I look forward to seeing some of your learnings in future posts. That buffalo head is incredible. I hope it finds a home in a museum someday.

Leave a Reply

