My Reward

I’m posting a few hours early this week because tomorrow I am off to New Mexico for Art Quilt Santa Fe. As I mentioned in an earlier post, my friend Ann Anastasio is co-producing it, and we will be entertaining on Tuesday night as Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre. The rest of the week I will be a classroom assistant.

Just in case the teacher doesn’t need me to do a lot of running around, I’m also bringing supplies to do the project. Today I went through my sewing room pulling things together. Although the room has cycled back to a scary phase, I was able to find all the things that I knew I already had! My hard work really has paid off (sort of – there’s still a lot to clean up).

Another reward for hard work will be unveiled at Art Quilt Santa Fe. Ann and I have been working on a sci fi novel about quilters saving the world from an alien invasion (the aliens disguise themselves as bolts of beige fabric). We’ve called the novel Death by Chenille.

We are publishing it on Smashwords.com as an e-book.

Art Quilt Santa Fe runs from May 1 – May 6. When I return, I will have a new project – a quilt for my daughter’s dog. Abby is a lab/Australian shepherd mix. I don’t have a picture of the dog, but I can show you the top and backing for her quilt.

A soon-to-be completed UFO

The dog hair shouldn't show too much on this

Meredith read the blog about my 90+ unfinished tops, and asked if there was one I wouldn’t mind finishing up for Abby. As it happens, I do, and I’m happy enough to give it to her. First, my kid is reading my blog! Woo-hoo! Second, when I finish this quilt I send it away. Third, I can show my husband that something is coming out of the sewing room to balance out all the stuff that is continually going in to the sewing room. This is a win on many, many levels.

I may not be posting next week since I’m not sure I’ll have access to a computer. When I do get back, I hope to have lots of pictures from the retreat to show you. Until then, may you also enjoy the rewards of quilting.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “My Reward”

  1. Elaine Schmitz Says:

    Have fun at the festival. It sounds like a hoot. Cna’t wait to download Death by Chenille.

  2. quiltfever Says:

    How exciting that you have collaborated on a quilt novel. I will have to check it out. Art Quilt Santa Fe sounds fun. Look forward to the photos. And bravo on the plan for another UFO finish.

Leave a Reply

