Deadlines

I finished the first quilt of 2011 last week – the top, the quilting, the binding – and gave it away. That’s why it’s done in the first place. The quilt was a gift and I had a deadline.

Deadlines add a certain level of stress to my life, but I guess that’s what’s needed to get moving. Case in point, the background for my Taj Mahal quilt.

Without the deadline of the quilt show at the end of April, I wouldn’t have searched the tote bag with the quilt top one last time. There, on the bottom, was the piece of fabric I had set aside for the back of this quilt.

I have so many things tucked away in very safe places, it’s wonderful to find them again before the safe place becomes the lost place. I consider this a gift of spring, and I hope a good omen for the rest of the season.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Deadlines”

  1. quiltfever Says:

    Congratulations on the finish. I love the fabrics in both the quilts and how you placed the big dots in the pink one. Your Taj quilt is beautiful and so unique. Is it an original design?

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Thanks for the compliments! Yes, the Taj quilt is an original design, but not all mine. It is from my friendship group, The Progressive Party. We all brought three ugly fabrics in plain brown bags to trade, then had to make a center with them. After that, we all worked on them round-robin style. We have suggested techniques, but no requirements. Quilts from “the uglies round” will be shown together at the Amador Valley Quilters show next month, as will quilts from two other rounds.

  2. quiltfever Says:

    Isn’t it amazing that fabrics which seem ugly by themselves can morph into beauties–like butterflies. Hope you will post photos of the uglies group from the show.

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      We had that same reaction – we were all close to tears the day we drew our bags, but when they were finished everyone loved what had been created! I keep thinking they would make a great book, but that would mean getting them all finished.

Leave a Reply

