A View of A Room

Someday, if I am a very good girl, I may have a sewing room like Margaret Misegades. She invited me to see her studio, saying it would make me feel better about the mess in mine. Although the room is indeed full of projects-in-progress, it looked perfect to me.

I fell in love with the closets first. They cover the entire length of the wall.


Then there is the size. The former owners used it as a media room, but the savvy agent who found it for Margaret knew how she would use it.

I’m not sure I caught the whole story of how she found the house because I was still in shock and awe and – let’s be honest – envy. Massive envy. Then I noticed the furniture. My husband is a weekend woodworker, so a beautiful piece will always catch my eye. Margaret’s late husband was also a woodworker.

He put an ankh – a symbol of life – on everything he made.

Margaret shares her space with her cats, or they share it with her, depending on your point of view.

There was also a nearly finished quilt that caused me more envy – first because it is beautiful, second because it is nearly finished. Margaret hangs her strip piecing and quilt tops on a wooden clothes dryer – keeping things organized and wrinkle free.

If you live anywhere in the San Francisco Bay Area and wouldn’t mind having me poke around your sewing room, camera in hand, let me know. Next week we’ll be back to my little world.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “A View of A Room”

  1. quiltfever Says:

    Wow, what a real estate find–a wall of closets! Now I have some serious envy along with you. I felt lucky to get an extra bookcase to fill up this week! It will be a long time before I put a photo of my sewing room on my blog! It always looks like a tornado just passed through

  2. Margaret Misegades Says:

    I can’t imagine how you managed to make it look so NEAT! And that quilt got delivered to my cousin just today.

  3. Mary Says:

    I also am GREEN with envy. A very beautiful workspace. And I always find other quilters’ “stuff” fascinating! Including yours, Lani!

Leave a Reply

