Unintended Consequences: The Reckoning

For the first time in three weeks, I turned on my sewing machine. Between waiting for my hands to heal and trying to keep up with other projects my trusty Viking hasn’t seen a lot of me. I think it was resentful, too, because my first seam was just awful – wibbly-wobbly doesn’t begin to describe it!

After correcting the error, I put the final borders on the appliqued hearts quilt for Challenge:

Then, since I am determined not to add to the UFO pile (at least this week), I started looking for backings. Those who have seen my quilts will tell you that I’ve never been bound by the convention that the back of a quilt should somehow correspond to the front. Very often, my quilts are backed by whatever was on top of the cutting table.

This is what was on top of the cutting table:

Much as I love the dancing lobsters, I thought it would be worth the effort to paw through some of the other fabric on the the cutting table to see if there was something more appropriate. I came up with this:

Unfortunately, I only have half a yard of this, so I went to the fabric drawers. I found this:

There isn’t quite enough of this, either, but perhaps together they would make a good back:

I’m not sure how I want to sew these two fabrics together – straight panels, larger strips, big blocks – but it’s a start. In the meantime, I decided I would deal with the scraps from the borders. Just as I picked them up to cut into squares, I spied an orphan block. This is where the title of today’s blog comes from – the revenge of unintended consequences. Here I am, all set to be tidy and organized, and a random orphan block leaps into my field of view. Now it’s demanding attention. This is what I’ve come up with so far:

So, instead of congratulating myself that I’m finally finishing up a project, I’ve got a newer, pushier project on my hands. The life of a quilter is never dull.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Unintended Consequences: The Reckoning”

  1. quiltfever Says:

    Those hearts have a lot of work in them so I hope to see a finish soon. They are too cute to put back on the pile. Can you just make a big 4 patch with the two backing fabrics? You wouldn’t even have to center the quilt over it. It could be positioned wonky if it’s big enough–or off center but with the seams true vertical and horizontal.

  2. Margaret Misegades Says:

    No, you have to wait until you come to see ME. You won’t believe what I have.

  3. Karen Says:

    Your quilt is beautiful Lani! I never would have thought of those borders on your hearts quilt but I love them! So striking. I thought you were going to incorporate the orphan block on your back. That is my style. Lol. Btw. I like the lobsters. :). The pink matches the front:). Enjoy! Karen

Leave a Reply

