The Blue Kangaroo and Other Loose Ends

So, in the end, I did use the kangaroo and palm tree fabric for the background of my kangaroo block. That informed my choice of critter fabric.

My friend Skippy

I tried using brown fabric, really I did, but none of my browns were quite right. But there was that blue-gray kangaroo on the background fabric, and I thought – why not? None of these fabrics individually says “fur” or “living creature” or even “large leaping thing” but put them together with a little embroidery floss and you have Skippy.

While looking for my embroidery floss, I first came across some of my silk ribbon embroidery supplies. I had been doing some research on holidays around this time of year (more on that later) and I ran across St. Bridget’s Day. One of the traditions is to set out a silk ribbon for her to bless. Since I have more projects than I can ever hope to finish, I thought it wouldn’t hurt to add St. Bridgit to my list of quilters celebrations.

The reason I was researching holidays is that February 2 is Ground Hog Day. It is my favorite holiday, mainly because you don’t have to do anything for it. There are no traditional foods, no gift obligations, no decorating guidelines. Whatever you do is good.

That’s sort of my quilting motto, too – whatever you do is good. Or can be good, if you’re patient. Which brings me to the alien blocks. I had another idea, which may or may not play nicely with the idea I had last week, but here is what I’ve got so far:

There may be more permutations before the quilt is finished. I suspect there will be many, many more – and that’s fine. Loose ends are my stock in trade.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “The Blue Kangaroo and Other Loose Ends”

  1. Margaret Misegades Says:

    I was hoping I could find a patron saint for quilters, or even needleworkers in general, but I’m afraid the best I could do was poor Saint Martha, who I always felt sorry for–she was the one who got stuck with all the housework while her sister, Mary got to sit at the feet of Jesus. Martha got the short end of the stick.

  2. Thea Says:

    Hi Lani, I love the ‘woeful’ alien block – I might use that as a banner for my UFO line!

    love the blue kanga, too!

    6 more weeks of winter…. counting down the days!

Leave a Reply

