Decisions, decisions

Today is Australia Day. I have no idea how the Australians celebrate, but I decided to draw a kangaroo.

There is more of a reason to draw a kangaroo than Australia Day. The Challenge Group assignment this time is to make an animal block that Gretchen Crozier will put together for a community quilt. I’m certain there are scads of patterns available for kangaroos, but I thought I would try making one myself. I bought the book in the picture – Animal Art – years ago. If you ever find a copy, snap it up. Even if you only do one bit of animal embroidery or applique a decade, it’s worth it.

I’m not certain how I’ll make the block yet, embroidery or applique, or perhaps a combination. I could even transform it into paper-piecing. If I choose not to do paper-piecing, I might use this for the background:

I also have decisions to make about Garden Variety Aliens. I finished the blocks, and realized I don’t have nearly enough tulip fabric to set them. Then I thought, why not arrange them to look like a flying saucer:

Imagine the ring as ribbon embroidery

Alas, there is no more time for quilting decisions today – it’s time to make decisions about dinner.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

