Maimed Fabric and Dead Herrings

My resolution for 2011 is to be honest about my situation, whatever it might be. In the sewing room, that means avoiding spin. I must learn to call things what they are. This, for instance, should not be called a scrap:

Such a sad state!

This is not usable. It is maimed fabric, and needs emergency treatment. Even with careful cutting, the best thing might be to just put it out of its misery and tip it in the waste basket.

In the interest of full disclosure, I should admit that I did not come up with the phrase “maimed fabric,” but I think it is brilliant. It describes the next two pieces perfectly:

Nibbled to death by ducks!

 

I also did not come up with the phrase “dead herring” – that belongs to a writer friend who said it describes those tantalizing clues you scatter throughout your story for the reader, only you forgot you put them there and thus never return to resolve them. That describes many a project that I’ve heretofore labeled a UFO. Here is one example:

Now, I actually like this block but I realized that by calling it a UFO I’ve been implying that I will get back to it. Some day. In the future. The far future.

No more. My UFO pile requires the same radical treatment as my scrap pile. My resolution is to stop tossing things in a convenient corner (and who says even a square room only has four corners?) and attend to the problem. I suspect it will be easier to train myself to slice those fussy-cut fabrics into usable squares and strips than it will be to abandon the odd block, but that’s my goal. Wish me luck.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Maimed Fabric and Dead Herrings”

  1. Margaret Misegades Says:

    Well, don’t forget the Silent Auction is coming up. . . .

  2. Violet Carr Moore Says:

    UFO could be stretched over a frame and be touted as a a skyscape painting. Or…use it as the center for a pillowtop to gift next Christmas.

Leave a Reply

