Charms for Removing Obstacles

I brought out a panel of Ganesh, a project I’m working on with friends. One of Ganesh’s attributes, so I’ve read, is that he is the one to clear away obstacles. As you can see from the panel, the first obstacle is going to be making this panel straight enough to add some borders.

I’ve been told you can sew a quilt into submission, iron it into submission, or quilt it into submission. We’ll see what works with this little critter.

As I was thinking of solving problems, I started thinking of all the little charms and totems I’ve used in the past to guarantee good luck. I realized I have all sorts of brick-a-brack that could be used as charms, like these little carved animals:

This is supposed to be an armadillo. Don’t ask me why it has red eyes. The next animal should be more obvious.

These little guys have been sitting on my sewing room shelf so long I’ve forgotten when I acquired them or why. I suspect they were gifts, and since I still like them quite a lot the gift was successful even if I’ve forgotten who the giver was.

I do remember when I acquired my own personal herd of elephants:

These tablecloth weights leaped off the shelf and into my shopping basket years ago. The children were little and I envisioned many picnics with dangling elephants. Well, we had the picnics, but always on the ground, never on a table. My little herd is still as bright and shiny as the day they came home. So perhaps the good luck was for them – to stay intact and together.

I’ve been staring at the wonky Ganesh panel for some time, and finally called for help. My friend came up with an idea that will probably work, and so I’ll perform the very best charm to ensure good luck – I’ll get to work and soldier on until the obstacle is removed.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Charms for Removing Obstacles”

  1. Elaine Schmitz Says:

    Must see the results of the Ganesh Panel challenge.

Leave a Reply

