Crafting with Mom

For as long as I can remember, my parents have always done a project when they’ve come to visit. One year they helped us build a fence, another year a bookshelf in the kitchen. For many years, my mom helped me process the apples from our Granny Smith tree. This year, however, is the first time she and I have ever done a craft project together. For the past week we have been busy with a Christmas project – and having the time of our lives.

We started out with beads that I inherited from my mom’s father. I think he used them to make flowers and stars, but since I don’t have any of those I can’t be sure (I have a lot of his woodworking projects instead). Mom saw the beads and the gears started turning, and before you knew it we had a box full of decorations.

She also brought a fabric project that she had discussed with me before she came out. I told her I had a tote bag full of Christmas fabric just waiting to be turned into something beautiful. Here she is with the works in progress:

I can’t show you the finished projects, (a) because none of them are quite finished and (b) because they’re for Christmas and I promised I would keep some details secret. Nevertheless, I want you to know that I am doing something, because my great plan to have Mom help me clean the sewing room was sidetracked. I can’t honestly say things are much worse than they were in the sewing room, but as you can see, they aren’t any better:

Still, I’ve had a great time doing this project with my mom, and she’s enjoyed working with some of her stuff, some of my stuff, and some of her dad’s stuff. We’re creating 3-generation heirlooms, getting them done before Halloween, and enjoying every minute. I can’t think of a better Christmas miracle.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Crafting with Mom”

  1. Thea Says:

    Hi Lani, your mom is so cute!
    when are you going to post a pic of those ornaments?
    cheerybye!
    Thea

Leave a Reply

