Cleaning for mom

My mom is coming to visit. She keeps a very tidy home. She knows how to organize and keep up with the organizational scheme. She has a house chock-a-block with clean flat surfaces.

Luckily, Mom loves me despite my not having a cleared off counter top to my name.

Still, before I ask her to help me in the sewing room (and believe me, I will) I wanted to make one more push on my own. With the help of my good friend, Linda Ballou, the scrap box under the window is empty. Well, it was empty – it’s full now, but full of project bags. Linda cut all the scraps into usable squares for my class kits. I took project bags that had been stuffed in corners and stacked them neatly in the box. This is progress.

You might notice those two bins under the box. They are filled with bits and pieces of things that might be useful someday. For the time being they’re going under the box. No, it isn’t quite organizing – call it a tactical retreat – but they are out of the way and that’s good enough for now.

I did attack a pile of pre-quilted samples. They were left over from another project. I decided I would use them to practice making woven fabric bowls.

What I learned is that Basket Weaving 101 is harder than you might think.

Finally, I pulled out my collection of Australian-themed fabrics and started on my next Challenge project. The assignment is Dream; I’m going to experiment with some 3-dimensional embellishments, such as the patches sticking out from the center. Those aren’t markers for another row – those are going to be panels that open and close.

I had hoped to show my mom a tidy, organized space when she came for her annual visit, but at least the room is in better shape than last year. Also, every mother loves knowing her children still need her, so I’m going to ask Mom for her advice. She may throw up her hands, she may laugh, but she’s going to be here for two weeks – and I think she’ll take the challenge.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

