When you can’t let go

My projects were coming along, so in between cutting fabric for one quilt and clearing off the remains of another, I looked around again at things in the sewing room that I can live without. This turned out to be less of a good idea than you might think.

When the kids went off to college, my husband made them clean their rooms. Not that I hadn’t tried for many years to get them to clean their rooms. My best year was when they were addicted to Power Rangers and they had to make sure beds were made and floors were tidy before they could watch TV. We lost ground after they developed taste. In any event, while cleaning their rooms they discovered all sorts of things they could live without.

I discovered that I couldn’t, so I rescued them. First on the list was Godzilla.

I used this little guy as a model when I put a fire-breathing Godzilla on a quilt for Evelyn Judson’s Progressive Party project. She had a tame little cityscape quilt that she wanted spiced up. By the time I got it, it already had King Kong, so of course Godzilla was the next logical step. Evelyn loved the quilt, so how could I let go of the toy that has such wonderful memories? I snatched it from the give-away box and now it lives on my shelf.

The kids’ stuffed toys also pulled at my heartstrings. I did end up letting them give away most of their Beanie Babies. I saved a couple of the cute ones, but those are in boxes, waiting for the kids to have homes of their own (as opposed to apartments for which we cosign). The bigger toys, however, practically begged me to reconsider. This shark, for instance.

How could I say no to that face? So, it’s on the shelf, too, next to the stuffed toys my husband bought me when the kids were born so I wouldn’t appropriate the ones people gave them.

The last toy I found belonged to my husband.

It’s one of those perpetual motion things. I bought it for his desk, but now there’s no room for it. He was ready to give it away, or even throw it away, but I was not. I might be able to give it away now if I knew it was going to a good home, but so far I haven’t found one, so there it sits, on the shelf with all the rest of the stuff I can’t let go.

As for me, I gave up trying to clean and went back to the fabric. Perhaps tomorrow I’ll be less sentimental.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “When you can’t let go”

  1. Margaret Misegades Says:

    We saved a similar Godzilla and incorporated it into our annual Christmas creche scene. It is now known as “The Beast that ate Bethlehem.” Some of our more religious friends are appalled at the sight of The Baby Jesus in Godzilla’s mouth, with an angel trampled underfoot, but others look forward to the variations that occur every Christmas.

Leave a Reply

