Uncovering Treasures

Having a monster collection of unquilted tops can be a godsend sometimes. I earned many brownie points for donating a quilt to a fundraiser, and giving the committee a choice of tops. This is the one they chose:

The top has been waiting years for a good home, and finishing it for a silent auction seems a reasonable way of finding one. And if the winning bidder is looking for a drag-around blanket for the grandkids, well, I don’t need to know.

As well as uncovering quilt tops, I found some other treasures lurking in the piles. The first was a small picture frame. I have no idea why I bought something that size, except it was gilded and cute. I have no photos that small, but I did have a leftover logo for the California Writers Club. I made a sheet of photo transfers of the logo for magnets for the board of our local writers association, and thought I would make something for me. Since I have way too many magnets on the fridge already, I cut the transfer fabric to fit the opening and slid it in the frame.

Frame - 4" x 5" Opening - 2" x 3"

I also found some applique initials that I bought for my kids, and realized that with very little effort I could make make gifts to fit in the other frames that clutter up the sewing room (I tend to buy them on speculation, the same as I do fabric). Then I unearthed an applique patch that I know I bought because it’s red, and decided I should really make a practice piece before I start on the kids’ presents. This is the patch:

4" x 5"

I’m not sure what I’ll do with it, but I’ve got plenty of frames and lots of fabric scraps, beads, threads . . . you get the idea. It’s one more step – out of a million, no doubt – on the path to cleaning up by actually using some of the treasures I’ve collected.

One Response to “Uncovering Treasures”

  1. TheaM Says:

    Hi Lani,
    Just checking up on you!
    Glad to see you are still quilting!
    😎
    Thea

Leave a Reply

