Obsessions

This was a set-back week for cleaning. I had to drag out another box of scraps for some kits. I’m still sorting them, and I refuse to show you the mess on the floor because it is just too sad.

To make myself feel better, I decided to finish up a top that needed one tiny strip on the border. I ran out of fabric just shy of the end, but was certain there was something in my stash that I could substitute. I was wrong. Since I had an appointment downtown, I thought I could risk a quick run into the fabric store to see if there was a complementary fabric on the shelves. I knew I would only have ten minutes to get from the parking lot to the fabric store to my appointment down the block. How much damage could I do in ten minutes?

What a silly question.

While looking for an appropriate substitute for the border fabric, I found some lovely beiges:

The top one will go in a project I’ve planned for some Egyptian-themed fabric that I’ve collected over the past ten years. The middle piece is a good background. The bottom piece has tree names printed on it, which will go well with a project I’ve planned for the tree fabric I’ve been collecting for the past fifteen years.

While I waited at the cutting table, I glanced over and saw these:

I am a sucker for pink and green. I have a pink and green Christmas quilt, and a pink and green Japanese crane quilt. Don’t ask how many tote bags I have with pinks and greens waiting for the perfect project, because I honestly don’t know.

Then, just as I thought I was in the clear, I saw these:

I have no idea what I’m going to do with these, but I couldn’t leave the store without them. Yes, the bottom fabric is of pink flamingos. I’ve been collecting pink flamingo items for years, too. It started as a joke with one of my quilting buddies, but has escalated to the point that I’m even buying pink flamingo jewelry:

At least I’ve never worn it. But I still bought it.

The scariest part of this expedition? I made it to my appointment on time. Never ask how much damage you can do in a few short minutes – you can do a lot.

4 Responses to “Obsessions”

  1. Elaine Schmitz Says:

    I’m pretty sure that quilt stores across the nation atomize a drug in their air circulation systems that make their shoppers curiously susceptible to buying a lot of even the most outlandish fabric. I’ve fallen victim to this on many occasions. (Hmmmm, it sounds like a plot for a science fiction short story, at least!) I feel your pain. Elaine

  2. Lani Longshore Says:

    Yes, and the bead stores and office supply stores use a similar drug!

  3. TheaM Says:

    this explains a lot! thanks!

  4. Lori Powell Says:

    Lani-do you work with a prison quilting program for women? I’m trying to find out more about the program. Please email me if you have time. Enjoy your posted work–especially the stars.

Leave a Reply

