Lost In Space

One of the treasures I unearthed recently was a notebook of sketches for embroidery patterns and some purple floss. The plan was to earn fame and fortune by creating the newest embroidery craze – purple work. I don’t exactly remember when that plan drifted onto the “maybe someday” list, but the notebook definitely ended up in the UFO stack.

As I looked at the sketches, however, I realized I had actually made some of them. I even remembered putting the pieces in a quilt. A finished quilt, mind you. So I went looking for it. I searched through all of my quilt stacks, including the ones dedicated to the shows I perform with Ann Anastasio as Broken Dishes Repertory Theatre. Nothing. Then I looked in the photo file. Nada. Zip. Zilch.

Since I am a woman of a certain age, I decided I must have only fantasized that I had actually finished the quilt, so I went through my unquilted tops. This is part of what I found:

Now, some of these tops were never quilted because I stopped loving them long before the final border went on. Some were never quilted because I couldn’t decide on a design. I also realized that unquilted tops take up less space; until they are needed, I keep them folded up in the closet.

Unfortunately, in my sewing room what takes up less space attracts less attention. Over the years, I have piled up enough quilt tops for my own one-woman show. Since I have no immediate prospects of a one-woman show, there is the question of what to do with the tops. If I just pile them up, will they stay unfinished forever? If I finish them, will they end up lining a dog bed some day?

And since I have no answer, I make the nagging questions go away by making more tops.

2 Responses to “Lost In Space”

  1. Mary Gates Says:

    This reminds me of the passage from “The Little Prince” (I think that’s the right story: I too am of a certain age.)

    The Prince met a man who drank. He was a man who drank to forget. He wanted to forget he was ashamed. He was ashamed of drinking.

    Keep quilting, Lanie, and I would love to come to your one woman show!

    • Lani Longshore Says:

      Well, I’m taking your advice, Mary. I finished (almost) another in the space quilt series, and I just promised a quilt to a fundraiser – at least one of my unquilted tops will see the light of day! Lani

Leave a Reply

