What Happens When I Sew Instead of Sort

I suppose I already knew that the reason my sewing room is always a mess is because I work there. If I had any doubts, these last two weeks took care of them. I spent a lot of time sewing and absolutely no time putting things back in order. This is the result:

Return of the mess

However, I finished Pockets Of Space (as well as cutting a bunch of kits and starting another project). I shared the very beginning last week. Here is the quilt in progress:

In pieces

I realized that if I wanted to make a quilt with functional pockets, I would have to use the quilt-as-you-go technique, something I’ve never done before. Since I rarely start with a pattern (preferring to let the fabric tell me what to do), I found that I had to take stock of each segment as it progressed from thinking to cutting to sewing, making sure I could sensibly assemble the quilt in pieces. The ideal quilting pattern eluded me, so I decided to machine-quilt straight lines and add hand-quilted motifs later.

One good thing that came out of this quilt-as-you-go piece was that I was able to use up some batting scraps that were taking up prime storage space in the closet. Once I get back to cleaning, I’m hoping the extra inches will be enough to hold all of my unquilted tops. Don’t ask how many I have – I gave up counting.

The finished quilt - bookmark in one pocket

Making the pockets was easy enough, but if I should ever repeat this idea I’ll be sure to add an extra half-inch all around the outer pocket. The inner pocket, or pocket lining if you prefer, doesn’t lie as flat as I would like. Also, I could have used a little more wiggle room to cover the seam around the back opening. I might also sew the front and batting together by machine, and sew the back seam by hand, rather than sew the entire segment with a binding for each seam.

Back detail

As you might imagine, I am itching to get started on my next project, which will be a fabric representation of a black hole. However, the discipline of tracking the progress toward my goal of a clean sewing room is starting to work. I am actually going to ignore the song of the sewing sirens this week, and put things away – at least until I have enough room on the cutting table to work again.

One Response to “What Happens When I Sew Instead of Sort”

  1. Kat Mulkey Says:

    Lani, what a fun idea–a pocket quilt. And the result is beautiful. Go you!

Leave a Reply

