The Joy of Vacuuming

The path from the door to the window is clear. I won’t say clean, because there is still a lot to do, but I vacuumed all the way to the piles against the far wall this week. That hasn’t happened since Easter. Of 2008. Maybe 2007, it’s hard to remember.

This is what I started with:

I justified leaving the boxes in the path as long as I did by saying they were part of my agility training. If I could get to the fabric drawers without knocking everything on the floor, then I was still in good condition. That’s what I told myself.

But the truth, as we all know, is more complicated, and this week I decided I would have to clear out the space. I discovered I could consolidate the boxes, since for the most part they held fabric. I put some of the books on my magic shelves, which again defied the reality of finite space. The other books will be given away soon. The dribs and drabs on top of the footstool were the hardest, but I actually found other places for most of that stuff.

And this is the result:

When I showed my family the cleared path, I was asked if it really counts as being clean, seeing as so much of the stuff just went to other places in the sewing room. In the interest of full disclosure, I will admit that some of the piles in other parts of the room did grow – but only a bit! I didn’t just shuffle, I consolidated. Nevertheless, I won’t take credit where none is deserved. So, next week, we will return to Fort Longshore.

2 Responses to “The Joy of Vacuuming”

  1. Thea McCurry Says:

    You have a carpet in Fort Longshore! and it’s clean! GO LANI!!!!

  2. Mary Gates Says:

    It’s definitely progress! Hooray for Lani!

Leave a Reply

