The Second Battle of Fort Longshore

The fort is now a shadow of its former self, like a lone flying buttress from a once mighty castle. And about time, too! I do not mourn the demise of Fort Longshore one little bit.

The last of Fort Longshore

What worries me is that the fort will mysteriously rebuild itself in the night. This happens more often than you might think. Sometimes, when I go into the sewing room first thing in the morning, I am convinced that we have poltergeist in the house, because surely I couldn’t be that messy.

Of course, if I were pressed, I would have to admit that I am. For instance, some of the stacks of fabric that I pulled from the fort weren’t actually put away. I piled them in another corner (which I craftily will not show you now!) because they really are crying out to be put in a quilt.

Two of those projects are on the design wall at this very moment. The first one is an ocean collection. I remember making the two blocks, both of them remnants of other unfinished works. The half-yard to the left, however, is a complete mystery. I don’t remember buying it; I don’t remember ever wanting to buy something like it. Nevertheless, here it is. I think the two blocks will go with it somehow, but what will connect them hasn’t revealed itself yet.

The ocean collection

I do remember buying the Santa Bears. It was the only one of its kind in a collection of Christmas fat quarters. All the way up to the cash register I kept asking myself what I was going to do with it. I paid for it before I answered the question, and three years later I still don’t know what I want to do with it. Nevertheless, here it is.

Santa Bears

When push comes to shove, I think that is the only explanation I have for most of the treasures in my sewing room. No, I don’t know why I want it; nevertheless, here it is.

Leave a Reply

