Small Victories

In week two of my sewing room project, I learned anew the value of small victories. While I did consider the suggestion from Vi to let an earthquake do my sorting for me, duty required that I plunge into this latest stab at organization. Like starting a diet and losing three pounds, the excitement of finishing a project and putting things where they belong (not where they land) thrilled me beyond measure.

Then reality hits, and you realize you still have twenty-two pounds to go – or in this case, the rest of the sewing room.

Nevertheless, I did accomplish something. If you take a close look at the picture, the fabrics on top of the piles are different than those in the picture from last week. I tidied the scraps from previous projects and put them away. Although it isn’t obvious, the height of each stack is a good inch less than when I started, and I recovered another four inches on my cutting board.

Week two - there's some improvement if you look carefully.

You may also notice that there is a quilt top on my design wall. One of my friendship groups, the Progressive Party, makes complete tops rather than blocks for each other. We all start with a center of some sort, and everyone gets a chance to add to it. We’re at the end of this round, so all I have to do is put on a final border. Usually, I spend the week before the meeting trying to remember where I put the project, the day before the meeting thinking of what I want to do, and the morning of the meeting sewing like mad. One of the small victories of the week turned out to be finding the project early!

The most gratifying accomplishment, however, was finishing some gift bags my mother asked me to make. It was a small project, but a small Christmas project. I’ve been known to mail my Christmas cards so late it’s nearly Easter, but Mom gets things done on time. Finishing the bags early enough so she can have her gifts wrapped and ready has given me a sense of optimism and empowerment.

It is the empowerment part that suggested a plan of attack for the coming week. I didn’t play forts as a child, but I’m making up for it now. As well has having piles on my cutting table, I also have piles on the floor. Sometimes they grow so large I have to dance the Sewing Room Side Step just to get from the ironing board to the sewing machine. My husband has mentioned more than once that the sewing room is a bit of a fire hazard, so as an early Christmas present for him my next assignment will be dismantling the walls of fabric rising from the floor. Come back next Wednesday and read about the Battle of Fort Longshore.

3 Responses to “Small Victories”

  1. Thea McCurry Says:

    Hi Lani,
    You are very inspiring – I think I may have to engage you in a ‘studio challenge’ as I’m in a similar situation – layers of UFO’s and leftovers waiting to be sorted and about a square foot of space left on the corner of my cutting table!

  2. Kim Jagger Says:

    I’m a firm believer in “small victories”.

  3. Marina Chiarappa-Zucca Says:

    Lani, I like the project on the wall! Thanks for adding the border. I will hopefully finish it and place it on my wall!!

Leave a Reply

