The Seven Layers of Troy

My sewing room is a scary place. Every year I vow that I will find the perfect system to keep the room tidy – and keep up with it. Every year I clean out part of the room, get some of the UFOs moved from the in box to the out box, use up enough fabric from the stash to warrant a shopping trip reward – and then go right back to my old habits.

More quickly than you can imagine, the piles return. They collect everywhere; on the cutting table, on the floor, on the ironing board; piles of fabric for projects, notes for projects, embellishments for projects.

It would be hard enough to tame these piles if that’s all I had to manage, but other things migrate to the sewing room as well. Some people have a scary drawer where they throw things that have no other place. My family uses the sewing room as the scary drawer. You can find almost anything in there – little boxes and jars, a decorative spoon collection that isn’t mine, Easter decorations that are. I hid the Christmas presents in there under the mistaken impression that the children were too frightened of being buried under the piles (should we get a good earthquake) to venture inside the door, but they told me later that they made an exception at the holidays.

I used to have a strong incentive to at least pretend to organize the sewing room. Whenever we had guests, one of the children moved there so the guest would have a place to sleep. Now that the kids are sort of on their own, I have two potential guest rooms – and no deadline.

I am pathetic without a deadline. That’s why I am putting my shame out for all the world to see. Every week, I’ll put my progress – or lack thereof – on record.

Mind you, I’m not promising to finish a project every week, or even every month. I will count as progress unearthing a forgotten treasure and doing something with it, even if that something is dusting it. My husband once compared my sewing room to an archaeological dig. Specifically, he said it reminds him of the seven layers of Troy.

So here is the first layer. Should I carefully remove each pile and deal with it, or scoop up an entire corner and sort it? I haven’t quite decided what to do. Come back next week and see what happened!

sewing room1

This is what I have to tame.

14 Responses to “The Seven Layers of Troy”

  1. Trish Says:

    Astounding–in so many ways!

  2. Doris Mc Says:

    You need to borrow my daughter-in-law, Debbie # 2. She would have you organized and 90% of your “stuff” gone before you know what happened! She is the best organizer I know.

  3. Meg Says:

    know what you mean – I have my own yard store in my extra bedroom!

  4. audrey Says:

    Wow – there is still a lot of wallspace visible – all is not lost!

  5. Sue Waldron Says:

    Way to go, Lani. I sent a photo into a magazine once that looked worse than your room. They didn’t even reply. And I thought for sure I would get the free makeover!!!! Can’t wait to watch the progress.

    Sue

  6. Ann A Says:

    I see that the ceiling is not being used. Yet.

  7. Camille Minichino Says:

    When are you going to show us the mess, Lani? This looks good to me!

  8. Violet Says:

    Leave it alone until the next earthquake. Whatever shakes off the top to the floor is the place to begin. Maybe you can rename it Earthquake Room and only clean when the Richter hits 3.5 or higher!

  9. Fred Norman Says:

    Lani, Did you know that I was born in Troy (NY)? Your Troy looks much better than my Troy. And congratulations on the BLOG.

  10. Stacey Says:

    Congratulations for accepting the challenge. My family also dumps their stuff into my space. I practically have to crawl to reach the tiny 6’X6′ space I have dedicated to oil painting in the garage. Fight Back!

  11. Bobbie Kinked Says:

    Lani, good work! in more ways then one! and keeo going, best way to build a novel.

  12. Lynn Says:

    Very courageous. Way to set a goal! There are no pictures of my garage anywhere online. =)

    Lynn
    http://www.writeradvice.com
    Author of You Want Me to Do WHAT? Journaling for Caregivers

  13. Jamuna Advani Says:

    Hi Lani,
    Your sewing room has come out in the open with lots of humor. I enjoyed reading it.

  14. Ilse Says:

    Lani, I’m impressed. Progress to be seen by the untrained eye. I wonder what it would take to make me publish fotos of my place – especially the space behind the curtain in the hall. My strategy so far has been to just pay no attention to the stuff behind the curtain, but some day it will creep up on me and attack me in my sleep.
    Keep at it – I’m looking forward to next week’s fofo.

Leave a Reply

